Nasgaweb Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Nasgaweb Forums » General
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

New to HG and 53 years old

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote samurai69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to HG and 53 years old
    Posted: 5/20/16 at 6:35am
Hi, I have been training all my life for 1 sport or another, for the last 5 years i have competed as a 105kg Masters Strongman and this year I got invited to compete at a highland games competition.

I am Really enjoying the training and have already set my sites on 2 more comps

However at my age changing from something very linear to something with much more spinning/circles has not been easy.

I was lucky enough to have some coaching (2 hours) with a decent HG competitor right at the start, but have been working on my own for the last few weeks. I probably left it too late really for my first comp as i have only really managed  6 weeks of any HG training, But every week does seem a little improvement

As a relative newbie and a Masters  competitor what sort of realistic distances should i be looking for in the events as most of the video clips i see are hardened athletes and experienced masters and Im getting close to the comp

I have kept all the techniques very basic, 2 swing WFD, shuffle shot put etc and as i train more will add in more  technical movements

Thanks
AlDargie View Drop Down
Postaholic
Postaholic

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote AlDargie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 5/20/16 at 2:29pm
First off welcome to the club Paul.

Question is a little tricky as it really depends on size, strength and technique.  Following links might help give you some general guidance.