FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

The Writing on the Wall

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CaberKing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The Writing on the Wall
    Posted: 5/18/10 at 11:35am

I have been throwing with increasing lower back pain since July 2008. This year it was even worse, and radiating to my hip and leg. I decided it was time for an MRI and here are the results. Even if you don't understand the lingo - it still reads pretty bad.

L-2, L-3 - Mild disc desiccation and relative narrowing with circumferential disc bulging and endplate spurring which is more prominate anteriorly.

At L-3, L-4 - Protrusion or contained disc herniation is seen resulting in acquired canal stenosis with encroachment on the superior aspects of lateral recesses, worse on the right.

L-4, L-5 - Canal stenosis and bilateral recess stenosis, worse on the right related to disc protrusion and contained disc herniation along with advanced degenerative facet arthropathy - mild foraminal stenosis on the right.

So as I thought was probably the case, and barring a miracle, my throwing days are over. Sorry to see it end. Dale, I'll have to wonder what it would have been like to edge you out.

On the positive side, I did get to throw for 6 years and make some really great friends, a few of whom I consider family. Oh yea, I met McBain too.

See ya'll from the sidelines,

Roland

Honorary Chaplain of the "Brotherhood of Michigan Throwers."
C. Smith View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Retired

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote C. Smith Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 5/18/10 at 12:13pm
My MRI is just as bad, as well as my wife's.  Did the doc tell you that you couldn't throw anymore Roland, because honestly that doesn't sound too bad.