FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

TRAINING LOG: Rob Meulenberg

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 32>
Author
Postaholic
Postaholic

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rob meulenberg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TRAINING LOG: Rob Meulenberg
    Posted: 12/21/11 at 3:36am
Hi all.  This is my first online training log in probably 7 years or so.  I think it is time.  I like this forum; everyone is very helpful and it seems like a real community (not unlike you will find at the games themselevs).  I know a handful of the guys posting their training logs here and I would like some accountability in my training as well. 

Anyway, about me.  I have been competing as a pro in strongman since 2007.  I have been riddled with injuries since about 2008 which IMO prevent me from ever really putting together a good strongman contest.  I have also totaled IPF elite in powerlifting in the 125kg class (and APF elite in the 140kg class).

I did my first games way back in 2005 when I lived on the West Coast.  I moved back East in 2008.  I competed in three games last season, which I would consider my first real season.  I met some amazing athletes on the field who have inspired me to focus even more on the games in 2012.

I train at a private gym called Silo Barbell in Bangor Maine.  We have everything from a monolift, Forza bench, Ivanko kilo set, specialty bars, logs, axles, stones, etc.

Since I live in Maine so most of my off-season training will just focus on lifting and not throwing.  But I will say up front, I am a lifter who is trying learn how to throw! 

My basic split is 2 upper movements and 2 lower movements per week. 

Here is my training from yesterday.

12/20/2011

Warmup:
Hip mobility

Deadlift (raw):
135x5
225x5
315x2
405x1
495x1 (add belt)
*all done with hook grip
585x1
675x1
*added straps last two sets
315x7 (hook grip)