Nasgaweb Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Nasgaweb Forums » General
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

Acromion Hook

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MNichols Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Acromion Hook
    Posted: 1/11/14 at 3:43pm

I don't post often but I've been throwing and training for about five years. I recently turned 60 and compete in most of the SHA games in California, along with a season finale at the Ventura game. At the end of this past season I was experiencing some ongoing shoulder discomfort in my right front deltoid area. After light lifting and rest failed to eliminate the pain I had a consult with the best ortho doc in the area a few days ago. He went over my xrays, put me through some diagnostic movements and, then, I learned more than I ever wanted to know about a shoulder condition called a hooked acromion.

This is the small bone at end of the shoulder under which the rotator cuff muscles contract to move the arm up and around. The acromion bone is supposed to be flat. However, some people come equipped with an acromion that hooks downward, thereby inhibiting and ultimately damaging the rotator cuff. As we age, damage is increasingly probable if one regularly engages in sports involving throwing or overhead lifting. That's me on both counts, hence my shoulder pain. The doc told me that the severity of the acromion hook is classified from 1-3 with 3 being the worst; according to him, I've got a 4.