Nasgaweb Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Nasgaweb Forums » Training Logs
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

Training Log: Kevin Becker

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kevin Becker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Training Log: Kevin Becker
    Posted: 6/20/15 at 3:13pm
I've decided to give this training log thing a try. For those of you I haven't met, I'm in my 3rd year throwing in the highland games, and this is the first year I've trained specifically for this sport. Before starting, I threw the wire hammer in track and field for about 12 years. I got relatively competitive within the US, but was still a long way from throwing far enough to make a US team. So after being pretty burned out with hammer, I took the advice of my college teammate Luke Crowley and signed up for my first highland games. I had more fun that day than I had had in years in track and field, and I was hooked!

Fast forward 2 more years, and this year has been off to a great start for me. I feel powerful again, technique is getting better, and I'm figuring out how to train for 9 events instead of 1. After a busy first half of the year I took about a month off after the Texas Scottish Festival to take care of some nagging injuries. I'm back at it now, and am gearing up to throw some big numbers in the late summer/fall games. I'm going to do my best to post my training here since I've been pretty bad over the years about recording my training. I look forward to getting insight from all the knowledgeable folks on this board!
Kevin Becker View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kevin Becker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 6/20/15 at 3:35pm
Training updates for the last week and a half: