Nasgaweb Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Nasgaweb Forums » Newbie
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Brand New to Heavy Athletics in SE Pennsylvania
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Database

scottishheavyphotographs.com Old Celt Equipment

Brand New to Heavy Athletics in SE Pennsylvania

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TedSchwab Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Brand New to Heavy Athletics in SE Pennsylvania
    Posted: 4/03/19 at 9:11am
Hi everyone! I'm a brand new newbie to Highland Games--I've been a spectator for years, and have always wanted to do it, but this year is the year.

How do you get started? How can I find a coach that will help me build up my strength and throw the right way?

Any tips on making the items used in highland games?

Any and all advice is SUPER welcome!!

~ Ted Schwab
TomLawrence View Drop Down
Postaholic
Postaholic

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TomLawrence Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 4/03/19 at 10:54am
Hi Ted,

I'll do my best to be brief and categorical.  Hopefully some of this will be helpful.

Getting Strong(er)
To quote strongman coach Brian Alsruhe, "Not that many things really work, and those things aren't that hard." 

Find a lifting program that emphasizes the four big movements: squat, bench, deadlift, and overhead press.  There are tons out there for free or cheap, e.g. 5/3/1, cube method, strong lifts 5x5, Matt Vincent's training lab, various conjugate programs, etc.  It's also worth considering spending a little bit of money to buy a program from a reputable coach, especially if they have highland games or strongman experience.